5 Tips on Making a LDR (Long Distance Relationship) Last and My Backstory

heart-couple

Hey Geeky Beauts!!! 

I’m so excited right now!! I’m finally talking about relationships. I absolutely LOVE talking about relationships. I could honestly go on about it forever and talk until I’m blue in the face! (I’ve actually tried to see how long I could talk about something without taking a breath…I average about 30 seconds actually..I just tried it. If you think I’m nuts, it’s because I am. HAHA!!).

***Check out my Youtube video about this topic!!

I go into a little bit more detail than I did on this post, plus I had so much fun editing it and throwing tons of pictures in it. I really hope you enjoy it :)***

Anywho, I think watching, learning and understanding relationships is truly fascinating. Whether it’s during the blooming infant stages or it’s spiraling out of control to meet its demise,  each situation possesses unique facets that are simply amazing to watch play out in front of you. It’s not always enjoyable to see, but I feel that people can always learn from the successes and failures of any relationship.

I’ve been in a LDR for a little over two years now (we celebrated our 2 year anniversary this past December). YAY! There are good and not so good parts to any relationship, but I believe that if you want it to continue and grow then you need to give it your all. If you don’t want it then you can jump ship, but if your heart is still in it then there are plenty of things you can do to make it stronger and last..hopefully for forever.

Out of any type of relationship, I think that long distance is one of the most difficult kinds because it’s a relationship built on promises and hopes, not current action. “I want to be with you one day,” “I want to be next to you at night,” “I want to make love to you everyday…if I could.” Most of the time a LDR is a bit stagnant, because you’re always waiting and trying to look forward to the moment when it’ll be over and you can actually be with your significant other. A LDR is really about making the time apart bearable and as happy as possible for both parties involved. It can be fulfilling if you shift your perspective a bit and remember that it’s temporary. It can be a difficult shift to make and was and still sometimes is difficult, but it can be done. So, here are my five tips for making a LDR last and work!

Starting with #5… (In order of least to greatest importance)…

5. Shared Activities. Since, neither one of you are in the same place it’s clearly impossible to actually “do” things together. But, I’ve found that you actually can do plenty!

  • Read Books: You can both choose a book that sounds interesting to the both of you and read it together. Once you’ve both purchased it, then maybe you can read a chapter a week and just have nice conversations about it.
  • Watch Movies: Who doesn’t like a good movie every now and then? And hey, with Google+ Hangouts you can cuddle up on your couches and watch a movie together using the “screenshare” function. It’s nice to be able to watch the same movie at the same time to kind of simulate the feeling of being in each other’s presence. Of course, it can’t replace that but it does help to bridge this temporary gap.
  • Play Games: Whoooo! Games are a GREAT way to engage in an activity together. There are TONS of phone apps that you can both log into and play together. My sister’s favorite is “Words with Friends” which is basically like Scrabble and I like “Draw Something.” “Draw Something” allows you to draw pictures to the other person and you have to guess what it is. It’s so fun and I think you all would love it. Then if you get sick of it, there are plenty of other apps that are available.

mailbox4. Write Letters: OMG!!! Writing letters is so romantic and it’s a fabulous way to make sure your partner feels special. Then, when you receive one back you’ll feel so flattered and appreciated as well. Sometimes it can be time consuming to express every little tiny detail love the phone so those minute details can be placed in a letter. Or, you can simply remind your partner of why you love them and why he or she is so special to you.

3. Visit Each Other: This is one of the best parts of a LDR! You’ve waited a few weeks, a month or even a few months and now you get to be in each other’s arms for a little while. It’s the BEST feeling ever, but the reason why this isn’t at the top of my list is because visiting can be expensive. Of course, the cost depends on your distance from one another, but even then sometimes someone can’t get time off of work. It’s best that you and your partner come up with a plan that works for the both of you. It’s better if you can visit each other more often, but if it’s infrequent you’ll need to think of other methods that can still make you feel closer.

2. Keep Your Own Life: This is so so SO important, not just for LDR’s but for any relationship. You never want to lose yourself in a relationship or let yourself get so wrapped up into someone’s else’s life that you begin to neglect your own needs and passions. If you liked yoga, swimming or riding bikes before you met your loved one then your hobbies shouldn’t stop because you’re in a relationship. All of your interests shape and influence who you are and that’s what your partner fell in love with in the first place. Also, in a LDR your lives will be pretty separate anyway so you still need to be busy or have a life outside of the other person. Why be bored when you can go out and have fun? Then, when you come home you’ll have a wonderful day to share with one another. It’ll keep conversation more interesting and doing things for yourself too will make you happy. If both people are happy with themselves and their lives, your relationship will be healthier.

1. Communication: If I had a penny for every time someone told me that “communication” is the most important aspect of any relationship I could have built a house out of ’em by now. I never realized how important it is to be able to communicate with your partner. What’s really important is that you’re both communicating wellIt’s important to understand how you both communicate and express ideas, disappointments and words of affirmation. If you’re not on the same page then the relationship will definitely begin to wither. You can text, talk on phone or webcam. There are pros and cons to each method, but It think it’s best to use each method to see what you both prefer. Learning how to communicate takes a lot of practice, but once you learn to figure out more about each other then it should be smooth sailing!

If any of you are in a LDR I would like to know what you do to make it easier and more fun! I hope this advice is helpful and I can’t wait to discuss it with you all and give more relationship advice. I’m open to requests and questions. I really would like this blog to be as interactive and as follower friendly as possible.

As always, let me know what you think, and I’d love to hear your comments!

***Also, don’t forget to check out my YouTube video!!!***

xo Ayana

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Vivian says:

    I love your blog, it’s very well put and very easy to relate. I also have a suggestion, when ever you miss the special person and want to give them a hug but can’t. I would say get your favorite pillow and ask that person to get there favorite pillow and at the same time you both hug the pillow tight, close your eyes and just picture a simultaneous hug. Not only is cute but romantic. Lol😆💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. geekybeaut says:

      Hey Vivian! Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you enjoy my blog. I never thought of that. That’s a great idea. That would be really cute and I should try that sometime. 🙂

      Like

  2. carlosuper2 says:

    Totally agree communication is very important. Love the post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. geekybeaut says:

      Yes it is!!! Glad you liked the post! We’re communicating now…eh? Lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

