I was nominated for the “Blogger Recognition Award!”

Hellllloooo Geeky Beauts!

blogger-recognition-award
Lol. I made this just for this post. I’m addicted to PicMonkey! Haha. 

I’m here to proudly announce that I have been nominated by Paige, the creator of the blog named: Currently, Lately, for a Blogger Recognition Award! I have only been blogging for a little over a month so I’m definitely a newbie. Paige was one of the first supporters and followers of my blog and it meant so much to me, considering how successful she is in the blogging world. Paige, I admire your blog and I’m so grateful for your support. I still remember when you liked my very first post and I was so freaking excited!! So, thank you for the nomination, it’s much appreciated!

You Geeky Beauts should definitely hop over to her blog, she talks about fashion, makeup and she even gives blogging advice! I consider her blog the “sweet spot” for bloggers lol! I hope you go check it out!

So, why did I start blogging?

me-and-soraya-grad
My sister and I graduating…at the same time…with the same degree. Yes, we’re twins lol 🙂

mulanI have always wanted to create a blog, and A Geeky Beauty Party is my third blogging attempt. I had created two other blogs, but they just didn’t “feel” right. I’m a “feeler” and if something doesn’t feel like an extension of myself then I can’t go through with it. As Mulan said, “My duty is to my heart” and if my heart says no, then I say no…I’m a Disney fan by the way haha!

Also, it was a bit difficult to balance blogging with school, but since I graduated from college this past December (see pic) I dove head first into blogging and thought it was great to get started on it while I’m looking for jobs in my field. I’ve always been a makeup lover, but I recently found interest in comics during my last semester of college. I was enrolled in a course called “Sex, Violence and Comics;” it was the most fun and most eye opening courses I’ve ever taken. We were free to engage in transparent discussions and my classmates were comfortable discussing sex, gender issues, racism, classism etc. It was so amazing!

Furthermore, I’m in a long distance relationship with my wonderful boyfriend of two years (see pic) and I thought I could lend advice about LDR’s too.

me-and-carlos
Me and my bf! 😀

Lastly, I’m really big on self-love and learning how to do that. I used to have literally zero self-esteem and I struggled with that for a long time, so I hope that with future posts I could help young women learn to build confidence and keep it! Being a woman of color forced me to face different obstacles in regards to loving myself and I want to explain that with freedom on my blog too!

So in short, I tried to find a way to weave all of my passions together and that’s how A Geeky Beauty Party was born!

I hope more people come to my blog and love it just as much as I do. I also am open to people requesting makeup looks, relationship questions or whatever you want to know, I can research it and give you my thoughts on it!

Here are two pieces of advice for new bloggers:

  1. Don’t compare your blog to others!

It might be really tempting to see how your blog measures up to others, but I really would try and avoid this especially in the early stages. Blogs are special because they are uniquely yours and your own voice, style and flair should pour out of each of your posts. If you’ve been looking at other people’s blogs and taking bits from everyone else, your voice may not be completely your own.

  1. Don’t expect instant success or support from everyone!

I’ve realized that even people that I thought would have been super supportive haven’t been all that supportive. I’ve realized that not everyone cares about what I care about. It’s been very humbling. Not everyone will jump on your blog right away and not everyone will like your blog and that’s totally okay! You can’t please everyone and don’t try and please everyone either. Don’t ignore your supporters of course, you will want to cater to them, but if someone doesn’t like what you do, appreciate their honesty and move on.

If you want to start a blog, go for it and give it your all!

Here are the other bloggers that I nominate:

P.S. Go check them out please!

Currently, Lately

Viva La Gyeda

EverythingShaquana.com

BecomeBetty.com

Be Like Water

Scottish Muslimah

roseviewslife

Life With Lizzie

If you’ve been nominated, the rules can be found on Currently, Lately’s Blogger Recognition Award post!

Thank you for reading! 

xo Ayana 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. You’re welcome! You definitely deserved the nomination. What you said about not comparing your blog to other blogs is so important. When someone compares their blog to another, they often end up losing their originality and uniqueness. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. geekybeaut says:

      I agree and it can be discouraging at first too! Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for this! It put the biggest smile on my face! I love this blogging world, we support eachother and take critism like adults and there’s rarely hate. As a newbie like yourself, it feels really
    nice that someone enjoys my blog so much and I will make sure to keep up with yours, thank you thank you thank you again ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. geekybeaut says:

      You’re so welcome! I do enjoy your blog so I knew I wanted to nominate you. I really do enjoy the blogging world too! It’s awesome because it’s so heartwarming to build a camaraderie like this! Keep up the awesome work. I wish you the best!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

