Part I: My Journey into Sephora: Applying, Store Visits, Interviews & Getting the Job!

Hey there Geeky Beauts!! 

My sephora jounrey GBP blog post featured photoThis is a very special post for me because I’m thrilled to announce that I’m NOW WORKING AT SEPHORA!!!!

I have always loved Sephora for as long as I could remember and I’ve purchased extremely good quality makeup from there. I’ve been shopping there for a few years and most of my makeup comes from Sephora (as you can see by most of my makeup posts lol).

After graduation and doing some self reflection in order to answer some personal questions like: What is my purpose? Do I have one? What is my niche – will it come to me or do I need to find it? Questions like these bounced around in my head for months and I tried to recall things that made me happy. For some reason my mind always settled on cosmetics and skincare. I love taking care of myself and looking my best and I’m drawn to others who do the same (and I’m obsessed with colorful things!!!) So, I went for it!

Step 1: Applying Online 

sephora career website screenshot final .jpg
Here’s a screenshot of the Sephora Career Website!

I thought of companies that I could work for and when Sephora popped into my head – it felt…right! I applied online immediately and created a new resume and cover letter to fit the job requirements; I applied for Makeup Advisor/Color Consultant at the mall that was closest to my house. I included some of my blog posts as attachments to showcase my work. I double and triple and quadruple checked my application before submitting it!

Step 2: Visiting the Store

sephora storefront GBP final 3

I wanted Sephora to know how much I wanted to work there so I decided to visit and speak to a hiring manager. I visited three times before I interacted with her! I was SO nervous, but so excited at the same time. The manager asked me a few questions about my experience and why I wanted to work there. It lasted about 5 minutes but my pits were sweating by the time I left. Phew! I did it and I felt that it went well. She was really nice and I was proud of myself for getting over my nervousness to reach a goal.

TIP: Make a portfolio of your makeup looks (this goes for any job). I think a portfolio really helps to show your interest. It also shows that you dedicate time outside of work to do what you enjoy!

Here’s mine: 

My Journey into Sephora GBP Blog Post
Cover of My Portfolio
GBP Journey Into Sephora photo
Inside of My Portfolio

Step 3: Interview #1

makeup look smokey champagneA few days after my store visit, I got a phone call from the hiring manager and she asked to come in for an interview! I literally jumped up and down and did a dance around my house! I was sooooo excited! So, I scheduled it and started to prepare for my first interview. I scheduled the interview for two days later and I brought in my portfolio. The manager was sweet and it lasted maybe about 15 minutes. Phew. I took a deep breath and gave myself a pat on the back. I was one step closer!

Step 4: Interview #2

GBP fools gold blog post photo 3
Interview #2: Makeup Look “Fool’s Gold.” 

The store director asked questions that were more in depth than the first, but it was to mainly emphasize why I wanted to work at Sephora. I chose to do my smokey eye look Fool’s Gold for this interview.

Step 5: Getting the Job 🙂

Since, I didn’t have any retail experience, they offered me a Cashier/Cast Wrap position and I was thrilled to take it. There’s lots of room for upward mobility there. I look forward to continuing there and in part 2 of this mini series I will talk about my first two weeks at Sephora! I hope to move into Color World eventually. I’ll explain exactly what this means soon…

Stay tuned please 🙂

wordpress post GBP signature

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This is awesome! Congratulations on your new journey!! It’ll be great to see what are your favorite products from sephora cause I’m always struggling to find something that I love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. geekybeaut says:

    Thank you so much for this comment! I really appreciate it 🙂 I’ll definitely be using and reviewing some new products in the future!! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

