Are your lips on fire? They will be after this…Come Get Sexy Red Lips!

Hey there Geeky Beauts GBP final

 

featured image bold red lip gbpWhile I was down in NYC this past week, I popped into Sephora on 34th Street (the largest Sephora in the United States…it’s so large that it’s considered it’s own district…Geesh!). It was really big annnnnnd really crowded. It was okay though since I got great service and really cool stuff!

I think bright colors are the way to go during the summer months and I had always wanted to try a super bright red. I was always nervous to dip into the red sea because I thought it might make me look like a clown. I hate clowns. I don’t know…they’re creepy annnnd they’re stupid funny, not actually funny. Anyway, I wanted to shop the Sephora Collection aisle because I heard they had a really awesome liquid lipstick. It’s called the Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain. I chose the color: 01 Always Red, it’s a classic bright red. (Take a look below)

Bold red lip color GBP

It looked really nice on my hand and I figured that if I didn’t like it that I could always return it. But little did I know….

THAT I WOULD FREAKING LOVE THE CRAP OUT OF IT!!!! 

I know people say “OMG” a lot when it’s more of an exaggeration, but when I put it on, I actually said “oh my god” out loud to myself. I was in awe at how smooth and gorgeous the color was. It looked great against my skin. For a while I never thought I could pull off bright red lips; I thought that brown skin was complemented better by deeper cherry and wine reds. Boy, was I wrong!

I totally think the colors you choose are about attitude and your application. Wear your makeup, don’t let it wear you!

The thing about liquid lipsticks is that they can be a little drying and I knew that before I wore it the first time.

So how do we get these bold red lips?

Moisturize

First, I moisturized my lips with Vaseline Lip Therapy: Rosy Lips. Make sure to rub this in well because petroleum jelly is also a really good makeup remover. So I usually moisturize before I start any makeup application. My lips are the last thing I do. By then it should be absorbed well enough to prime them.

Prime

Primer really helps for a smooth application. Since we all have lips lines, it helps fill those in to make sure the color goes on really smoothly. It helps the color last a bit longer too. I used Sephora Beauty Amplifier: Ultra-Smoothing Primer. This primer is to die for, it’s super silky and lightweight. It has a bit of a blurring effect as well. Let that sit a little then whip out your color.


Color

The wand on this lip stain is great for precision and I didn’t need to use any other brush to cater to my lip shape. I went over the color a few times and it gave me a creamy matte finish.

I got so many compliments on this color at work from coworkers and clients! I even got another woman with deep brown skin to try it as well! It was a nice feeling.

So? moral of the story?

Anyone can try bright bold lips so don’t be scared to dive right into the little tube and get lost in it!

I know I’m never coming up for air..Lol!

Tell me about your flings with red lips?

wordpress post GBP signature

Leave a Reply

